This Month’s Playlist Updated

You can now listen to NorthernRoom’s February Playlist by clicking the link at the top of the page or by listening below. This month’s tracks include Kasabian covering Bowie while Carl Barat and Pete Doherty cover The Beatles plus songs from Christopher Norman, The Shins and many more.

2012 Hotly Anticipated Releases

2011 was quietly a good year for music with two releases from Kate Bush and Alex Turner but what of 2012? Here at NorthenRoom we thought we would list a few albums that we can’t wait for.

The Maccabees// Given To The Wild// 9th January

Here at NorthenRoom we can’t understand how these London lads are not bigger, their previous releases were perfection; both were incredibly catchy and effortlessly cool. With their third album close to release maybe 2012 will be The Maccabees year.

Sigur Rós// TBA// TBA

Having been on hiatus since 2010, rumours have been flying round of a 2012 album and tour ever since their Q&A at the Inni premiere. Allegedly the album is planned for a spring release and the sound will be “floaty and minimal”. Perhaps we will see the band returning to a sound similar to their earlier albums.

The Shins// Port of Morrow// March

The fourth release from the indie pop legends will have some high expectations to reach but The Shins are easily capable of reaching them.

Cursive// I Am Gemini// 21st February

A concept album about twins, one is good the other is evil. Can’t say we at NorthernRoom are fans of concept albums and this in particular doesn’t sound too appetising. However, it is the excellent Cursive and the song ‘The Sun and Moon’ is bloody awesome.

Errors// Have Some Faith In Magic// 31st January

The band burst at the seams with colour and electro compositions creating one of the best danceable acts out there. Their song Earthscore, off their future album, shows the band could be bounded for greatness.

The Shins To Release New Album

Indie pop band The Shins are set to release their fourth album named Port of Morrow in March 2012. It is set to be released on James Mercer’s Aural Apothecary label while it has been recorded in LA and Portland. This will be the band’s first release since 2007’s Wincing The Night.

The track listing is as follows:

‘The Rifle’s Spiral’
‘Simple Song’
‘It’s Only Life’
‘No Way Down’
‘Bait and Switch’
‘Fall of ’82’
‘For A Fool’
’40 Mark Strasse’
‘Port of Morrow’